Project Description

Belcea Quartet
Schubert – String Quartets

Schubert string quartets belcea

String Quartet No. 13 in A minor D.804 (“Rosamunde”)
1 – Allegro ma non troppo
2 – Andante
3 – Menuetto (Allegretto) & Trio
4 – Allegro moderato

Quartettsatz (Quartet Movement) in C minor D703

String Quartet No. 10 in E flat Major, D87
1 – Allegro moderato
2 – Scherzo (Prestissimo)
3 – Adagio
4 – Allegro

“…Corina Belcea and her colleagues seem to have the knack of shaping each long phrase to perfection, knowing just when to intensify the vibrato or give a note extra emphasis, and when to allow the music to flow effortlessly onwards….the most impressive thing I’ve yet heard from them…”
Gramophone Magazine

“…It is all disquietingly beautiful, as Schubert should be…”
The Guardian

“This third Belcea disc certainly matches their previous recordings. The lesser work, D87, gets a charming, persuasive interpretation, but the profound and subtle way these young players engage with the later, greater music is the most impressive thing I’ve yet heard from them.”
Gramophone, March 2003